Daily Roundup, 05/10/11

- Red Sox/Blue Jays.
– The Blue Jays led this one 3-0 early because Lester gave up three runs in the first inning, including a bases-loaded walk. He walked three in that inning after walking no more than three in any of his other starts.
— There was also this play, which I didn’t see but uhhh: Juan Rivera pops into a force out, first baseman Adrian Gonzalez to shortstop Jed Lowrie. Jose Bautista scores. Aaron Hill out at 2nd. Juan Rivera to 1st. (Okay, I read an article and apparently Gonzalez was trying to catch the pop-up, only it bounced off his glove. He was able to throw to second base in time to get the out there. Why this was not called an error the world may never know.)
—- Anyway, Lester ended up giving up five walks and five runs in total. And going into the bottom of the eighth, it was tied.
—– Daniel Bard gave up David Cooper’s first big-league home run to untie the game.
—— In the top of the ninth, Frank Francisco gave up Adrian Gonzalez’s second home run of the game to re-tie it. Okay, maybe you can predict baseball.
——- Also in the bottom of the ninth, Boston shortstop Jose Iglesias had his first career PA. He struck out, but reached on a wild pitch.
——– Not much else happened until the bottom of the tenth, where Rajai Davis stole second and third and David Cooper (ah, you again) hit the walk-off sac fly.

- Your basic summary: Toronto gave up sixteen hits (including three home runs) and three walks, and had two errors to boot… and won when Jon Lester started for Boston.

- Mariners/Orioles was pretty crazy, but not AS crazy. Still.
– The Mariners took the lead in the top of the thirteenth, on Mike Wilson’s first major league hit.
— The Orioles, who had blown multiple opportunities to score, tied and then won it in the bottom of the thirteenth.
—- These were the scores in this game: 2-0 SEA (Adam Kennedy HR!), 2-1 SEA, 3-2 BAL, 3-3 (Chone Figgins XBH!), 4-3 SEA, 4-4, 5-4 BAL, 5-5 (obligatory Kevin Gregg blown save), 6-5 SEA, 6-6, 7-6 BAL. Final.
– There were 34 total hits in this game

- Since the beginning of 2008, the Nationals are 32-26 against the Braves, and 171-289 against everyone else. (h/t @ajcbraves)
– Today the Nationals were up 7-1 against Tim Hudson, who’s 11-2 against them with an ERA of 1.88 in his career.
— The Braves actually clawed back to make it 7-6, but lost anyway.

- the Roy Halladay/Josh Johnson matchup actually lived up to the hype, with the Marlins winning 2-1 on an unearned run.
– Might I remind you that in Halladay’s perfecto last year, the score was 1-0, his opponent was Josh Johnson, and the one run was unearned.
— Halladay actually walked two people in one inning, including Johnson. That’s the first time he’s walked the pitcher in his career.

- Kyle Davies took his first career loss to the Yankees; he was 3-0 prior to this. He had an ERA of nearly six against them, too.
– The final score of a Freddy Garcia/Kyle Davies matchup in the Bronx: 3-1.
— Matt Treanor got on base three times, and got caught attempting to steal. (There was also a balk called, then un-called, on this play.)
—- There was an inning where the Royals made three outs as such: popped-up bunt, caught stealing, caught stealing. Oops.

- Tim Lincecum: 8 IP, 4 H, 0 R/ER, 9 K. Ian Kennedy: 8 IP, 4 H, 0 R/ER, 8 K. Plus Kennedy broke up Lincecum’s no-hitter in the 6th.
– Neither of these guys will get a decision.

- Kyle Farnsworth issued his first walk of the year.
– Unfortunately, it was with the bases loaded.
— In a tie game, in the bottom of the ninth
—- After starting off the at-bat 0-2.

About these ads
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Roundup, 05/10/11

  1. Chad says:

    It’s a stupid rule–if there’s an out recorded, it’s not an error unless you can determine that somebody got an extra base, and even then it’s considered a fielder’s choice and an error. I saw one example of the “can’t assume the double play” that was absolutely ridiculous. Ball hit just to the third-base side of second, shortstop picks it up, flips it over to the second baseman with plenty of time to get the out, the second baseman muffs the catch and lets the ball go off his glove, runner reaches, shortstop picks the ball up again and throws to first base, batter-runner is out, 6-4-6-3. Can you really say that the second baseman might n0t have been able to turn the double play when the shortstop was able to turn it after the second baseman clanked it?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s